"Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature" - Mark 16:15

The New Testament


The New Testament is an anthology, a collection of Christian works written in the Greek language of the first century, at different times by various writers, who were early Jewish disciples of Jesus of Nazareth. The New Testament consists of 27 books. The original texts were written in the first and perhaps the second centuries of the Christian Era, generally believed to be in Koine Greek, which was the common language of the Eastern Mediterranean. All of the works which would eventually be incorporated into the New Testament would seem to have been written no later than around AD 150.

The New Testament consists of:

  • four narratives of the life, teaching, and death of Jesus, called "gospels";

  • a narrative of the Apostles' ministries in the early church, called the "Acts of the Apostles" and probably written by the same author as the Gospel of Luke, which it continues;

  • twenty-one letters, often called "epistles" in the biblical context, written by various authors and consisting mostly of Christian counsel, instruction, and conflict resolution; and

  • an Apocalypse, the Book of Revelation







Conservative News
The Daily Manumitter